ETF congratulates those recognised in 2021 New Year honours

The Education and Training Foundation (ETF) has extended its warm congratulations to the 30 individuals from across the Further Education (FE) and Training sector recognised in the 2021 New Year Honours.

Recipients include Further Education Commissioner Richard Atkins, who received a Knighthood, Department for Education Non-executive board member Irene Lucas, who received a Damehood, and Exeter College Principal John Laramy, who was awarded a CBE (Commander of the Order of the British Empire). Twelve individuals were awarded OBEs (Officer of the Order of the British Empire), thirteen received MBEs (Member of the Order of the British Empire), and two were recognised with the British Empire Medal (BEM).

David Russell, ETF Chief Executive, said,

“Further education and training creates opportunities for individuals and promotes the economic success and inclusivity of communities, regions, and the nation as a whole.

“Our congratulations go to all of those from across the diverse range of organisations in the sector who have been honoured. Their commitment has made a difference to countless learners’ lives and it is right that we thank them all and celebrate the contributions they have made.”

Individuals from FE and Training recognised in the 2021 New Year Honours List were:

Richard Atkins

Irene Lucas-Hays

John Laramy

Susan Husband, Director, Business in the Community, Cymru and lately Director, employer and employee engagement, Education and Skills Funding Agency
Ellen Thinnesen, Chief executive, Education Partnership North East
Carole Stott, Lately Chair, Association of Colleges and Find a Future
Dipanwita Ganguli, Principal, Sutton College
Robert Lawson, Chair of Governors, Education Partnership North East
Alun Francis, Principal and Chief Executive Officer, Oldham College
Rosalyn Parker, Principal, Southend Adult Community College
Dawn Hall, Adult, family and community learning Manager, Doncaster
David Walrond, Principal and chair, Truro and Penwith College and Callywith College
Susan Jessica McVeigh, Head, tax apprenticeship employer-provider, HM Revenue and Customs
Carolyn Savage, Head, Apprentice Engagement, Education and Skills Funding Agency
Hunada Nouss, Chair, Audit and Risk Committee, Education and Skills Funding Agency

Gerard Donnelly, Team Leader, Apprenticeship Team, People and Capability Group, Department for Work and Pensions
Emma Cobley, Principal, Foxes Academy Residential SEN College
Sally Challis-Manning, Principal, Brinsbury College, Pulborough
Shirley Collier, Lately Chair of Governors, York College
John Godden, Chief Executive Officer, Salutem Care and Education
David Crosby, Chair of the Corporation, Hugh Baird College
Katherine Hewlett, Glass tutor, Working Men’s College
Nichola Hay, Chief Operating Officer, Estio Training
Sharron Robbie, Managing Director, Devon and Cornwall Training Providers Network
Sue Tipton, Managing Director, Protocol Consultancy Services
Neil Weller, Chairman, London Apprenticeship Ambassador Network
Ian Peake, Principal and Chief Executive, Herefordshire, Ludlow and North Shropshire College
Lynne Christopher, Deputy Principal, Isle of Wight college

Janet Ellis, Programme Co-ordinator, Science, South Devon College
Richard Ashman, Library Co-ordinator, City College Southampton.

Share this article: