Finalists for WorldSkills UK EDI Heroes Awards announced

The finalists for the WorldSkills UK Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Heroes Awards have now been announced – for which the Education and Training Foundation (ETF) is sponsoring the Role Model category. The Role Model award is granted to individuals established in their career, who have taken exceptional steps to drive equity, diversity and inclusion, and have shown qualities that encouraged and inspired others. 

The annual EDI Heroes Awards event is dedicated to celebrating the achievements of those going above and beyond to create more inclusive practices. All awards are open to students, apprentices, employers, and employees, recognising individuals and organisations who are making a difference to the future of the industry.  

Finalists for the awards are:  

  • Rising Star – sponsored by Skills & Education Group: Dhimple Patel (Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Foundation Trust), Haris Javed (Lloyds Banking Group), Alice Amegah (World Bank). 
  • Role Model – sponsored by Education & Training Foundation: Lisa Nicholson (New College Lanarkshire), Andrew Smith (The Open University), David Jones (Pembrokeshire College). 
  • Inclusive Skills Development – sponsored by FEWeek: Hayley McKeswick (Newcastle College), Lisa Nicholson (New College Lanarkshire), Louise Gaskin (NESCOT). 
  • Skills Competition Diversity Champion – sponsored by Onefile: Lisa Nicholson (New College Lanarkshire), David Jones (Pembrokeshire College), Diane Smyth (North West Regional College). 
  • Network of the Year – sponsored by AirProducts: HSBC, Northern College, Coach Core Foundation. 
  • Skills Competitions Advocate – sponsored by abpi: Gower College Swansea, Rotherham College, North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College. 
  • Initiative of the Year – sponsored by UVAC: STEM Learning, Coach Core Foundation, North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College.  

Full details of the awards are available on the WorldSkills UK website. The winners will be presented with their trophies at an awards ceremony on 7 March at the House of Commons, sponsored by Charlotte Nichols MP.