Lynsi Hayward-Smith and Helen Pettifor recognised in the New Year’s Honours List 2019

In the New Year’s Honours List 2019, Lynsi Hayward-Smith and Helen Pettifor, were both recognised for their contribution to the Education and Training Foundation (ETF) and to Further Education more widely.

Lynsi was awarded a CBE for her support as an ETF Trustee and for services to Further Education. She is Head of Adult Learning and Skills for Cambridgeshire County Council and has been a senior manager in local authorities since 2002.

Helen was awarded an OBE and up until her retirement she was the ETF’s Director of Professional Standards and Workforce Development before becoming an Associate Director for Professional Standards. Previously, she had held senior roles in a range of national development bodies in the Further Education sector.

David Russell, Chief Executive of the Education and Training Foundation, said:

“Both Lynsi and Helen have made huge contributions to the success of Further Education in our country, so these Honours are extremely well-deserved and give due recognition to the sustained impact they have had in their respective careers.

“Lynsi’s long and successful career as a senior leader in the sector, most recently delivering adult learning and skills in Cambridgeshire, allowed her to bring great wisdom and experience to the ETF Board.  She has been instrumental in shaping the success of the ETF over its first five years as a Trustee, ensuring we never lost focus on adult learning or on overall impact.

“Helen has had an unparalleled career in the FE sector’s national improvement agencies, and has been an inspirational example of ‘servant leadership’ to the ETF and the sector.  She has a great depth of knowledge and understanding about our field, coupled with the experience needed to make national programmes happen successfully.  She has been an essential part of what the ETF is today, and I am delighted to see her personal contribution honoured publicly in this way.”

View the full list of those awarded honours in the Education sectors.

Share This Article: