Shortlists for 2019 TES FE Awards announced

The shortlisted entries for the 2019 TES FE Awards, for which we are both the headline sponsor and a sponsor of three awards categories, have now been announced.

The ‘Teacher of the year’ award seeks to reward an individual whose passion, knowledge and skill have inspired students to success and who have made a major contribution to educational life. It is open to all UK further education institutions, including colleges, training providers, employer providers and adult and community learning providers. Shortlisted for the award are: Karen Walker (Abingdon and Witney College), Alice Eardley (Activate Learning), Samantha Jones (Bedford College), Tom Jones (Cardiff and Vale College), Russell Alderson (City Lit), Richard Spencer (Middlesbrough College), Andrew Loveridge (Northampton College) and Claire Knapp (Weston College).

The ‘FE leader of the year’ award will recognise a provider that has demonstrated exceptional performance in the 2017–18 academic year. It is open to all independent training providers, with the main criterion being evidence of bold, imaginative and innovative initiatives that have advanced an individual’s reputation and performance over the last year. Shortlisted for the award are: Patricia Jones (Bedford College), Simon Pirotte (Bridgend College), Mark Jones (Gower College Swansea), Karen Dobson (Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group), Mouhssin Ismail (Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre), Lesley Davies (Trafford College), Lindsey Whiterod (Tyne Coast College) and Paul Phillips (Weston College).

The ‘Overall FE provider of the year’ award will be presented to the provider that has demonstrated exceptional performance in the past academic year. Also covering the 2017–18 academic year, it will be chosen from the winners of the FE college, Training provider, Sixth-form college, Adult and community learning provider and Specialist provider of the year categories.

David Russell, Chief Executive of the Education and Training Foundation, said:

“The TES FE Awards recognise excellence and achievement across the sector and we are pleased to support them as both a headline and category sponsor. The professionalism, dedication and innovation that can be seen across further education and training are inspiring. The individuals shortlisted in the Teacher of the Year and FE Leader of the Year categories comprise a very strong set of candidates and we congratulate them on being selected. Choosing winners from such high-quality fields will be far from straightforward.”

Full details of the awards, including all of the shortlisted nominees, are available on the TES FE Awards website. The winners will be revealed on 22 March 2019.

Share This Article: